University Advisory Committee

The University Advisory Committee (UAC) advises the Oversight Committee about the role of higher education in cancer research. The members of the UAC include representatives as specified in state law.


C. Kent Osborne, M.D., Chair
Tina and Dudley Sharp Chair in Oncology
Director, Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center
Professor of Medicine and Molecular and Cellular Biology
Baylor College of Medicine

Peter Davies, M.D., Ph.D., Vice-Chair
Director, Texas A&M Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Professor, Center for Translational Cancer Research
Texas A&M Health Science Center

Carlos L. Arteaga, M.D.
Director of the Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center
Associate Dean of Oncology Programs
The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Michelle C. Barton, Ph.D.
Dean, Graduate School Biomed Sciences
Professor, Epigenetics and Molecular Carcinogenesis
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Joseph “Joe” Heppert, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
Texas Tech University

Walter E. Horton Jr., Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Research & Federal Relations
Chief Research Officer
Texas State University

Ruben A. Mesa, M.D., FACP
Director, Mays Cancer Center
Mays Family Foundation Distinguished University Presidential Chair
Professor of Medicine
The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Claudia Neuhauser, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President/Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Technology Transfer
HHMI Professor, Mathematics
Division of Research
University of Houston/University of Houston System

David Niesel, Ph.D.
Associate Chief Research Officer, UTMB Health
Vice President and Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Lawrence E. Ethridge, Jr. Professor, Department of Microbiology
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Peter S. Rotwein, M.D.
Chair and Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences
Vice President for Research
Associate Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso

Yousif Shamoo, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Research
Professor of Biosciences
Rice University

John Louis Wood, Ph.D.
Robert A. Welch Distinguished Professor and Cancer Prevention Research Institute Scholar
Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Baylor University